Back to work

Tomorrow, it’s back to work for me.  I am talking about the gym of course.  I had to take the last month off due to some serious tendonitis in both knees.  I have been keeping myself medicated and stretching every day.  I figure a month should be enough time to heal and now my knees feel great.

This should be a big warning to all you guys who go and work out and don’t stretch and warm up first.  I went to the gym one day and I was running late.  I thought I could just hop on the treadmill and run for my 50 minutes without stretching and warming up first.  I sure have paid for it.  I was worried that I would have to go to a bone and joint doctor because my knees hurt so bad for the week that followed.  I waddled around like a penguin and stairs almost made me sick to my stomach.  Luckily, I have a friend who is a MD and he took a look.  He told me to take Advil for the discomfort and don’t do anything for a few weeks such as high impact exercise.  I decided to take the month off and it has really helped.  Getting older can be such a pain if you don’t take care of yourself. 

I am probably going to be hurting the day after tomorrow, but I feel guilty for not going for the first time in my life.  I have been working out steadily for eight months prior to getting injured.  That’s a record in my book.  I am no muscle head, but I like how I feel when I work out consistently.  I will be taking it easy tomorrow and can’t wait to get back to the Gold’s.

 

I have a question if anyone is interested.  Maybe it’s more of a poll.  I am interested in hearing how you organize your workouts during the week.  I get into a time bind with my workouts and looking for new ideas on how to approach a routine.  Also, are there any resources on line regarding workouts that you would recommend?

1 Response to “Back to work”


  1. 1 gentlemanbeggar May 9, 2008 at 3:08 am

    I follow this routine:
    1. Run my mouth off.
    2. Jump to conclusions.
    3. Dodge questions.


Leave a Reply

