A bench of a time

I have been busy setting up my shop for a car restoration and I have almost completed my work bench.  I am so excited to get this project done.  I have been using the shop floor as my work surface for 3 years now.  I found a nice set of steel legs with stringers in the local classified ads.  I sprayed the legs with rustoleum flat black and built a top by laminating several sheets of MDF and coating with polyurethane to protect from moisture.  I attached trim to the edges that are 1/4″ taller than the MDF surface.  I did this so that I may lie a 1/4″ hard wood plywood on top of the MDF and keep it in place so that I would not have to drill more holes through the MDF.  The MDF provides the solid work surface and the plywood protects the MDF from marring.  I might mount a vise to the bench, but that would be the only mounting hardware that I would use for the 1/4″ plywood.  I want to make it as easy as possible to replace. 

 

Update:

Bench is complete.  This project took a week working about an hour or so every evening and one Sunday evening.  The hardest part was waiting for the polyurethane to dry.  If I had to do it over again, I might see if I would use a table saw to get straighter cuts.  Although, I am getting good at cutting a pretty straight line with the jigsaw.  I would also stain the pine trim a dark color instead of just using the polyurethane.  Pictures please!

 

     

The removable top in place.

Finally done

1 Response to “A bench of a time”


  1. 1 gentlemanbeggar May 30, 2008 at 2:43 am

    That bench is looking good. All you need is a straight cutting jig for your jig saw.


Leave a Reply

