Something ordinary

I have been out of sync with my blog for some time and it has been eating at me.  I thought I was having writer’s block or something interesting to blame.  Truth be told, I have been pretty boring lately.  I am recovering and seeking new things that I will be keeping you posted on in the near future.

First of all, the car is on hold until I have the $$ to purchase a better condition car than I had originally thought that I wanted to tackle.  This comes from looking at several local cars for sale that suffer from some serious cancer(rust).  I am willing to do some body work, but what I have seen requires some more experienced hands than mine at this time.  

Second to that, I have been doing some soul searching and trying to listen to myself.  No, I don’t mean that I talk to myself.  I have been evaluating the things that make me happy and those that do not.  I had previously revisited an old love when I built my work table.  Man, I love that thing!  Of course, I can never leave well enough alone.  “Table with a vise” is being replaced with a Holtzapffel workbench that I am building.  This bench is geared more for woodworking and incorporates two types of vises, a face vise and end vise.  I am interested in the bench because I want to revisit woodworking.  I had forgotten how much I like woodworking until I built the table.  I have some pictures that I will post of my progress.  This bench is taking some time to build since it is made entirely of wood and requires some skills that I didn’t have prior to this exercise.  I am having to learn how to use hand planes and joinery techniques.  Keep me, my patience, and my digits in your prayers!  If you ever want to get into woodworking, I highly recommend podcast by The Wood Whisperer, Matt’s Basement Workshop, Modern Woodshop, Fine Wood Working, and Popular Woodworking.  I can’t forget about The Rough Cut Show with T-Chisel.  That one is a blast.  I am sure there are many other great podcast that I haven’t discovered yet, but this is the list thus far.  Of course, I will keep you posted with projects.  Shop time is a little scarce these days for some reason.  Hmmm.

2 Responses to “Something ordinary”


  1. 1 Keith Cruickshank November 11, 2008 at 4:56 am

    I just ran across your post and was impressed by your enthusiasm for the craft. You say you have writers block, but after reading your post, I’d say you’ve got plenty to say, especially your desire to share the idea that life is more than work and that pursuing a hobby like woodworking can be a very fulfilling part of life. Keep making sawdust! Keith (www.woodtreks.com)

  2. 2 Amber Morris February 17, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I am glad to see that you are getting back into woodworking. Do you remember the wooden carousel horse that you made for me in high school? I still have it to this day. I won’t part with it. I am glad that you have found again the hobby that you enjoyed so much then. Talk to you soon!

    Am


Leave a Reply

